Two years ago I planted my first tree, a Cercis Canadensis ‘Forest Pansy’ (Redbud) at the back of my house. It’s done very well, helped in part by being planted where I used to make compost.

In a few weeks I’ll be planting a second tree in my front yard, either a Malus ‘Prairie Fire’ (Crabapple) or an Acer Palmatum ‘Sango Kaku (Coral Bark Maple) for my front yard. Trees increase property values, conserve energy, provide a wildlife habitat, improve air quality and much more. And thanks to Casey Trees, I can calculate the annual value of my redbud’s economic and ecological contribution.

As an added incentive, from now until May 2009 Casey Trees is offering a $50 rebate for DC residents who purchase, plant, and care for a (non-invasive) tree on residential property.

Verde que te quiero verde.   Verde viento.  Verde ramas.
Green I love you green.  Green Wind.  Green branches.
–  Federico Garcia Lorca, 1899-1936

Redbud summer 08

Redbud summer 08

Redbud fall 06

Redbud fall 06

